Introductions

211. Those who take a discourse rightly, conforming to both the letter and the spirit, they are responsible for the good and the welfare of the many, for the good, the welfare and the happiness of gods and men. Moreover, they create great good and help establish the Dhamma.

Anguttara Nikaya I.69

To introduce myself, I am a middle school teacher in a small town in Northern California. I am also a Buddhist.

I am not an expert. I am a fairly recent convert to Buddhism and a teacher for 6 years. I am not “perfect.” I’ve made mistakes. I am just a guy trying hard to understand how to both follow the Dhamma and be a decent teacher, and I’m willing to share my thoughts and experiences in the hope that it provides a basis for others to create their own positive experiences. Words are just words.

This blog will be my journey. I will post bits and pieces of Buddhist philosophy and relate it to my classroom experiences, and general philosophy on education. I’m going to do so without being too specific about my classroom, school, or students so that ideas can be shared freely. It will be as much about education as Buddhism. The job of the teacher has become more and more complex over time, not less. As educators, it’s important that we share and discuss what “works” so we can keep up with the changing world of education.

This will be a public blog. Share it, link to it, quote it . . . whatever. I’m going to ask that comments be kept positive and discourse be kept civil. That doesn’t mean that reasonable people can’t disagree, but it does mean I expect everyone to be respectful. To paraphrase John Stuart Mill, free speech and an open mind should be encouraged by all. When two minds meet, and discourse happens, it is a chance at improvement for both. We shouldn’t fear new ideas, because when we encounter new ideas, we’ll either leave the discussion satisfied in our own concepts and ideas, or with a new, better idea we can put to use.

1 comment
  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a comment